Dear Difficult Person

Conflict

Conflict

It’s me again, here to get under your skin.  I realize that my behavior or mere presence can be annoying to you, as your reaction is angry, defensive, disrespectful, contemptuous or passive-aggressive.

However, whatever you do, behind that façade of unreasonable, smug, churlish (I admit I had to google that word since I wasn’t sure what it meant) demeanor, I see the real you.  And that you is a beautiful, amazing person. Your behavior cannot blind me to your true spirit.

I can also see that, like the rest of us, you are doing the best you can, even if I don’t understand your choices.  I know that you are abiding by what you believe is right, even I don’t understand that either.    I know that sometimes you use anger,  hostility, or manipulation to protect yourself from your own fear or feelings of loss, just like I do, and that you might blame those feelings on me.  I also know that we are both on a journey to understand the experience of being human and finding meaning and purpose in our lives.

So Dear, Difficult Person you are my brother, my sister, and we are partners in the most human and worthy journeys of self-discovery and self–actualization.   Even our very conflict is an opportunity for us to grow and learn more about ourselves and each other.  After all, I wouldn’t want to deprive you of a learning opportunity.

2 thoughts on “Dear Difficult Person

Leave a Reply

