Reflections of Myself in My Dog

Chris and two of the pups

Chris and two of the pups

I have a theory that the dogs that we are attracted to are the ones whose personality is most like our own.   Case in point.

I love all three of our dogs, but the ones that’s always been nearest to my heart have been my little, perky, affectionate, extroverted, always-by-your-side dogs.  My previous little white version of the above was named Max, and after he passed we adopted our new little black version, Romeo.  Both were small dogs with this outgoing and extremely social personality.  I can’t help thinking that they are both so much like me.  Indeed, if I were a dog, I would want to curl up in the lap of my loved ones and lick them on the cheek all day long.  Yes, it can get annoying, which by the way is why I don’t do that to my loved ones.

The other thing I’ve noticed about our new little Romeo is that he gets so excited and carried away by life he’s literally running in circles as he’s walking on the lead.  He moves forward, but at great expense of energy and after many mis-directions.  I think I’m more focused than Romeo in most aspects of my life.  But I do think with smaller things, as I’m buzzing around from room to room on various multi-tasking errands, that I often end up going in circles because it’s harder for me to focus on small tasks.   I end up moving forward but more often than not, I’ve done a lot of tail-chasing in the process.

Romeo also likes to bark like crazy at the greyhound who is about seven times bigger than he is.  It’s a completely futile endeavor.  Mostly Obie ignores him but sometimes he snaps at him when he loses patience.  I liken the behavior to my own tilting at windmills; I can’t help myself by taking on the Goliath to my David, but it’s sometimes it just the principle of the thing.

I’m probably completely guilty of anthropomorphizing, but I also do think sometimes it’s easier to see patterns in others before we recognize them in ourselves.  Sometimes that other needs to be someone as non-threatening as a dog to be able to see those patterns.  But I need not only see the dog’s downsides.  I mean, foolishness and inefficiency aside, what’s not to love?  I don’t expect my dogs to be perfect, nor do I need to expect myself to be perfect either.  We’re both lovable, just as we are.

It came to me that every time I lose a dog they take a piece of my heart with them, and every new dog who comes into my life gifts me with a piece of their heart. If I live long enough all the components of my heart will be dog, and I will become as generous and loving as they are. – Anonymous

 

Leave a Reply

