Are You Fixed or Growth Oriented?

Before you answer this question, it probably requires a bit of explanation.  A fixed mindset refers to the philosophy that we are who we are and that we cannot change.  A growth mindset believes that we can grow and improve.

The advantage of a fixed mindset is that a person is fairly consistent across time and situation.  If you’re marrying someone with a fixed mindset, you’re likely to have the same person more or less for decades to come.  It’s predictable and you don’t have to worry about that person changing too dramatically as you get into your golden years.

The other advantage of a fixed mindset is that you don’t have to worry too much about who you are.  Introspection and self-assessment is a waste of time, as is the notion of trying to change someone else.   A tendency to accept others as they are is an especially nice trait!

The disadvantage of a fixed mindset is that fixed individuals are less resilient.  If you think about it, the ol’ self may work in many situations, but if additional skills or perspectives are needed, it may be more difficult to manage if you believe you cannot rise to meet the new situation or adjust your viewpoint.

I’ll throw out another disadvantage, which is purely from my perspective.  If I had a fixed mindset, I might be stuck as I was when I was 20-something.  Those of you who have been reading my blog know that my 20-something was not someone to brag about.    I guess others were more likely to be perfectly formed and accessorized in their 20’s to deal gracefully with all of life’s situations.  I sure wasn’t.

‘Course, I would surmise if you’re reading this blog, then you’re probably of the growth mindset and I’m somewhat preaching to the choir.  But like the other personality types, you growth folk can use this information to better understand the other half of the world that doesn’t love self-help in some fashion.

I know.  No one is perfect.  J

Leave a Reply

