Flow, My Favorite Non-Feeling

Flow. It’s not just a character on a sitcom called Alice. It refers to the sense of getting totally absorbed and losing yourself in an activity.

It’s a great feeling to be in flow, but you’re strangely absent of emotion. Rather, you become one with your task. Make sense?

I’m not sure it makes great sense to me. It feels great, but I have no emotion. It’s not a physical sensation per se, but the physical is included because usually I’m energized while in flow.

Perhaps the emotion that might best describe being in flow is connection or engagement. I’m connected to my task in such a way that all my cylinders are firing and all of my attention is engaged in what I’m doing. Likely I’m using my strengths while in flow, and so probably I’m doing a great job as well.  That accomplishment feels good, but maybe only after the fact. Kind of like that tree falling in the forest – you may only see the after-effects of a dead tree.

I think there are degrees of flow too. For example, I love to write, but it’s a solitary activity and my communication strength is only moderate. So though I become absorbed in writing, and I love to write, I wouldn’t say that it’s where I necessarily do my best work.

In contrast, when I’m training or coaching, then I’m using most of my top strengths including my relational ones. Not only am I performing at my (relative) best, but I’m so energized, I feel like I’m buzzing. I’m using my strengths, so I know that even when I’m tired or not at my best, I will be able to do a good, if not respectable, job.

Energy. Accomplishment. Engagement. Losing track of time. Just because you’re not feeling them, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t notice them. These are the paths to your bliss. Follow them. Create them. Grow them. Pursue every opportunity to be at your best, and you’ll become even better. Imagine!

Leave a Reply

