I’m Too Humble to Tell You How Humble I Am

I’ve lived all my life feeling that I was a very ordinary person.  I never really stood out in academically, I was never that popular or talented, but people always told me that I had something “special”.  “You will change the world someday”, they told me.  But I didn’t believe them at the time.  

I really did not have any intention to change the world.  All I wanted was to have a family and do my job, but people kept asking me to step up and lead.  I never knew my ability to inspire others could be used to inspire others.  And now, here I am, poised to change the world for the benefit of all of you who don’t understand what it is that needs to change….

I’ve written once before about the quality of humility and narcissism as being circular blind spots.   For example, if I think I’m humble, or am telling you about my humility, then I’m not being very humble.   The story above, totally fabricated by yours truly, is an example of how someone can brag about being humble without realizing it.

I guess all I can say is that if you catch yourself bragging about your humility and you wish to be viewed as humble, you might want to rethink this approach.   I suspect that the lack of humility is rarely lost on the listener.

Take it from me, someone with genuine humility.  🙂

One thought on “I’m Too Humble to Tell You How Humble I Am

Leave a Reply

